Blow to BJP; Congress Makes Big Comeback in MP Local Body Polls


Caravan News

BHOPAL — The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) received a huge setback in Madhya Pradesh on Saturday when the Congress won 9 out of 19 posts of Nagar Palika (city civic body) presidents in local body elections. The elections were held on Wednesday.

The BJP, which has been in power in the state for the last 15 years without interruptions, also won 9 seats. One seat was won by Independent candidate.


Results of Nagar Palika President Elections in Madhya Pradesh

  Posts of Nagar Palika President BJP Won Congress Won
Dhar 9 4 5
Badwani 7 4 3
Khandwa 1 1 0
Guna 1 0 1
Anuppur 1 Independent won


The results of 19 Nagar Palika president posts in five districts show that the voters have firmly rejected BJP’s call for a “Congress-free India.” Also, one of the 9 winners of Congress is Muslim. Shabbir Khan won the Dharampuri Nagar Palika president election in Dhar district.

The Congress has also performed well in elections for Nagar Palika members. Out of the 352 seats that went to poll, Congress won 145 seats while BJP won 194 seats and Independent 13 seats.


Results of Nagar Palika Elections in Madhya Pradesh

Nagar Palika President Nagar Palika Members
Total Seats 20 356
Elections Held for 20 352
BJP won   9 194
Congress won   9 145
Independent won   1   13
Result not announced   1     0


Congress won 20 out of 24 seats in Raghogarh Nagar Palika. The party won the post of president of Nagar Palika in Dhar district. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan had extensively campaigned here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here