Students awaiting announcement of results of student union elections at JNU in New Delhi.

Two days back, ABVP had won top three posts at Delhi University students union election which was conducted through EVM. During the counting of votes, the EVM had developed glitches, forcing the Election Commission to say the EVMs were not theirs, but taken by the university from ‘private’ sources. JNU elections were conducted through ballot papers.

Caravan News

NEW DELHI: After counting of all votes cast in the JNU Students Union election, the Left Unity, an alliance of four left groups, has emerged victorious on all four top posts on Sunday, leaving ABVP at distant No. 2.

The winners are: President – N Sai Balaji, Vice President – Sarika Chaudhry, General Secretary – Aejaz Ahmad Rather, and Joint Secretary – Amutha Jaydeep.

Almost on all four seats, ABVP candidates finished behind half way of the Left Unity candidates.

Elections for the posts of President, Vice President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary were held on Friday. After hours of counting in the night on that day, some people allegedly belonging to the saffron outfit ABVP clashed with security guards of the counting centre and tried to snatch ballot boxes, leading to the halt of the counting. The counting was resumed in the evening on Saturday.

Winning candidates of Left Unity alliance at JNU Students Union election

In the couple of first hours of counting on Saturday, the Left Unity was leading but for some next hours, ABVP had taken marginal lead over Left Unity. However, as the counting progressed deep into the night, Left Unity retained the lead position and continued till the last vote was counted.


JNU Students Union Election: Final Results Out, Left Alliance Sweeps 




Vice President


General Secretary


Joint Secretary



N Sai Balaji

(Left Unity): 2151


Sarika Chaudhry

(Left Unity): 2592


Aejaz Ahmed Rather

(Left Unity): 2426


Amutha Jaydeep

(Left Unity): 2047


Lalit Pandey (ABVP): 972


Geeta Sri (ABVP): 1013



(ABVP): 1235


Venkat Chaubey (ABVP): 1290


Vikas Yadav (NSUI): 281



(NSUI): 366


Md. Mufizul (NSUI): 230


Nureng Reena (NSUI): 548


Thallapalli Praveen (BAPSA): 483

Jayant Kumar (RJD): 389

Purna Chandra (BAPSA): 455


Vishambhar Nath (BAPSA): 566


Kanaklata Yadav (BAPSA): 472





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here